RSS

How do we get tied up in Sin

06 Feb

In the book of James 1:12-15

12 Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.
13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone;
14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed.
15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.
Main Points:  It’s not easy to break a pattern of sin so stop acting like you overcame sin
God will separate those who love Him from those who don’t.
Application Slogan:  If we want to be a sheep; to the needs of others, we must leap”
For you and I to break patterns of sin we much learn how a continued life of sin is hard to break.  In other words identify that you are a sinner and confess that it’s not easy to break the sin that’s hindering on your soul.  This reminds me when I was smoker and I wanted to quit.  I tried the patches it made me sick so I stopped taking it.    I tried cutting it down (not that I was a heavy smoker but nevertheless I was addicted to smoking) to 10 a day, 5 day 2 a day to 1 day and \that didn’t work.  I remember speaking to Lord and saying Jesus you know that I like the feeling I get when I smoke but I’m praying that you remove that feeling and take the taste out of mouth; and this is how I was able to quit smoking and it has almost been twenty years.  Thank you Jesus!
Let’s pray:  Father God I ask you right now in the name of Jesus to help everyone who reads this post to first understand more about Jesus at this time.   I pray Father that the scriptures penetrate in our lives as we read the scripture to encourage ourselves and those around us how sin can tie us up and God will separate those who love Him from those who don’t.  In Jesus name I pray.
If I was to give you some paper and water and ask you if you can tear lets try a couple of papers you can probably tear it.  Now if I ask if you can tear lets say up to half a ream of paper or until you no longer can tear through them let use this as an metaphor being sin.
Consider the following question:  Why was it easy to break through the first couple of pages.  Some may say because it was thin or it wasn’t that much paper during the first couple attempts.  You may noticed that as you added more paper it got harder for you tear.  If you take the larger bunch of paper write the word sin on it and let it sit in a pan of water and come back in couple of minutes.  Just like us we think that we have little sins when the paper was easy to tear and then we think we have big sins when we added to the pile and couldn’t tear.  The example that I wanted to leave with you is first don’t think of sin as being a little sin or look at sin being a big sin.   (In other words there is no such thing as a little sin or big sin in the eyes of God)  The book of James tell us or better yet what we should share:  It is a good thing to stay away from a life of sin.  All of us sin; yes; but when we do, we can ask God for forgiveness.  On our own its not easy to break a pattern of sin, but when we’re soaked in the power of the Holy Spirit, and bathed in the love of friends and family, we can break through our sin nature in Jesus name.
No longer bound to sin is my prayer and confession for today and until I meet Him!
BLESSINGS!
 

Leave a Reply

 
THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

